IITB-Monash Research Academy Graduation Day

16 PhDs awarded to IITB-Monash Research Academy scholars on Graduation Day


For the fourth year running, students of IITB-Monash Research Academy received their degrees as part of the IIT Bombay convocation ceremony on August 13, 2016.

The 16 joint PhD degrees were conferred to scholars of the IITB-Monash Research Academy by the Deputy Chancellor of Monash University, Dr Christine Nixon.  The research projects completed, ranged in topics from manipulating stem cells to make different kinds of tissues, to developing novel polymer composite membranes for the development of direct methanol fuel cells.

The scholars who did The Academy proud are:

  • Abhishek Tripathi
  • Prasanta Kumar Sahoo
  • R Thyagarajan
  • Naresh Nalajala
  • Debashree Banerjee
  • Nelson M
  • Saroj Yadav
  • Edmund Carvalho
  • Ajay Nagesh
  • Akshaya Kumar Swain
  • Saurabh Sanjay Nene
  • Sonal Keshawrao Thengane
  • Balakrishna Ananthoju
  • Prashant Agrawal
  • Ashish Prabhudas Unnarkat
  • Wasim Feroze G. S.

Monash was represented at the event by Professor Ian Smith (Vice-Provost, Research and Research Infrastructure Monash), Mr David Pitt (Senior VP & CFO, Monash), Dr Jacek Jasieniak Director (MEMSI) and Mr Adrian Gertler (Programme Manager, India Operations). The Academy CEO, Prof Murali Sastry was also present for the proceedings.

The chief guest for the occasion was Dr Rajendra Singh, Chairman, Tarun Bharat Sangh and winner of Stockholm Water Prize 2015.

Wishing the graduating students the best in life, Prof Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Bombay said, “Continue to develop your knowledge and skills and always keep in mind how you can help society and the nation through your work. I wish you all the success in your future endeavours.”  Dr Nixon in her conferral speech stated “I look forward to the day in the not too distant future when these graduates will make distinguished contributions to academia and industry”.  This now brings the total number of students graduated from The Academy to 40, with the current enrolled number at 180.

For more information on this unique Joint PhD program between Monash and IITB please visit